Catholic Fraternity of Charismatic Covenant Communities and Fellowships

Catholic Fraternity of Charismatic Covenant Communities and Fellowships



Catholic Fraternity of Charismatic Covenant Communities and Fellowships



Catholic Fraternity






The Catholic Fraternity was created at the initiative of a number of Catholic Charismatic Communities belonging to the International Brotherhood of Communities (IBOC) - an ecumenical association of largely Catholic communities - who felt the need to affirm their identity within Charismatic Renewal, strengthen their links with the Church and deepen their communion with the Successor of Peter. A decisive role was played in its constitution by its first President, the Australian Brian Smith, and the Texan Bobbie Kavnar. On 30 November 1990 the Pontifical Council for the Laity decreed recognition of the Catholic Fraternity of Charismatic Covenant Communities and Fellowships as an international association of the faithful of Pontifical Right.



The Catholic Fraternity is made up of Catholic Charismatic Communities, and strives to identify with the saving mission of the Church in communion with the Pope. This is pursued by encouraging member communities to remain faithful to the charisms given to them by the Spirit to build up and renew the Body of Christ, and helping them to become more keenly aware of their membership of the Catholic Church; guaranteeing that they fully comply with the teaching and the Magisterium of the Church, particularly with regard to ecclesiology, the centrality of the sacraments and devotion to our Lady and the saints; promoting initiatives and programmes for evangelisation; cooperating with other ecclesial communities and movements; working for authentic ecumenism, consistent with the guidelines of the Catholic Church.



The Catholic Fraternity is not a hierarchically structured ecclesial movement, but a federation of communities and associations, recognised by their local bishops, which contribute to building up the one Church of Christ, in respect for their different charisms. It has no legal authority over the member communities, but solely pastoral and spiritual responsibility towards them, in order to strengthen their Catholic identity. The representative body is the Council, made up of the delegates of the member communities, chaired by the President, meeting at least once every two years. Within the council there is the Executive, made up of two representatives from each continent and delegates of other regions or constituent parts of Catholic Fraternity.



The Catholic Fraternity comprises 51 communities and associations in 14 countries, as follows: Asia (2), Europe (6), North America (2), Oceania (1) and South America (3).



The member communities of the Catholic Fraternity have established schools of theology and pastoral work; radio and television stations for evangelisation; spiritual retreat houses; educational and catechetical projects for street children; specific programmes to provide material and spiritual aid to the elderly, immigrants, the sick and the unemployed; primary and secondary schools; homes for the poor; assistance programmes for prisoners and their families; programmes to prevent abortion and assist expectant mothers, and international missions in Africa, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Sabah, and Indonesia. The members are also committed to evangelisation programmes for young people and young adults in parishes, schools and universities.



Catholic Fraternity International, a newsletter published three times a year in English.





The Catholic Fraternity of Charismatic Covenant Communities and Fellowships

Palazzo San Calisto

00120 Vatican City

Tel.: [+39] 06 698 87342 – 06 698 87120

Fax: [+39] 06 698 87190