World Union of Catholic Women's Organisations

UMOFC logo.png


World Union of Catholic Women's Organisations




UMOFC (Union Mondiale des Organisations Féminines Catholiques)






In 1910, a group of European and Latin American women, with the support of the International Catholic Society for Girls (see ACISJF) created the International Union of Catholic Women’s Leagues to defend the faith, protect religious freedom and organise social action based on the principles of the Magisterium of the Church. In 1913, the year in which Pius X approved the Statutes of the Union, it already had a membership of 27 organisations in 17 countries. The work of the Association, which suffered seriously from the two world wars, resumed vigorously in the wake of the Second World War when it relaunched its commitment to guaranteeing recognition of the role women play in developing and establishing the right of Catholics to take part in international life. In 1952, the Union adopted the present name. Previously recognised by the Holy See, on 1st January 2007 the Pontifical Council for the Laity erected the World Union of Catholic Women's Organisations as an international association of the faithful. As an NGO, it has consultative status with Ecosoc, FAO, ILO, UNESCO, Unicef, and the Council of Europe.



WUCWO sets out to promote the participation and joint responsibility of women in society and in the life of the Church, thereby fostering its evangelising mission and commitment to human development. The Union pursues this aim by encouraging the education of women, to enable them to address the challenges of the contemporary world; heightening their awareness to respect for cultural diversity; encouraging its member organisations to reach out to the international dimension; cooperating with other international organisations working to ensure respect for the rights of the human person and above all the rights of women; encouraging dialogue in an ecumenical and  interfaith environment.



The supreme governing body of WUCWO is the General Assembly ü which meets every four or five years. The supreme executive body of the association is the Board, made up of the members of the Executive Committee and the members elected by the delegates of the organisations affiliated to the Union, meeting once a year with the participation of representatives of WUCWO at the United Nations and the Council of Europe. The Executive Committee, which comprises the President General, the Vice President General, the Treasurer General, the Secretary General, the Regional Vice Presidents and the Ecclesiastical Assistant, meets twice a year. The association also has Permanent Committees and Working Groups.



Periodical Newsletters and Women's Voice, four-monthly magazine.





World Union of Catholic Women's Organisations

Piazza di Ponte Sant'Angelo 28

00186 Roma